Skip Navigation Linksteachers-enterprise-bargaining

Teachers Enterprise Bargaining 2016

The Department of Education and Training State School Teachers' Certified Agreement 2016 (Teachers' Agreement) was certified by the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission 5 October 2016. The Teachers' Agreement commences operation on 5 October 2016 until its nominal expiry on 30 June 2019. As a result of the certification, the Teaching in State Education Award – State 2016 (Teachers' Modern Award) will also come into force from 5 October 2016.

The Teachers' Agreement is published on the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission website.

Key changes

The key features of the Teachers' Agreement are:

  • a 2.5 per cent increase per annum for all state school teachers
  • a streamlined and modernised salary structure for classroom teachers including a new beginning teacher salary of $66,000 and a new $101,000 salary horizon for Experienced Senior Teachers by the end of the agreement
  • the implementation of the government's commitment to introduce Highly Accomplished Teacher and Lead Teacher classifications
  • a strengthened commitment to maximising permanency for teachers
  • enhanced opportunities to attract qualified professionals into the teaching profession
  • provisions to address workload concerns
  • a review of head of program and school leader classifications during the life of the agreement.

The 1 July effective date of annual wage increases has also been preserved and will enable enhanced superannuation benefits.

Teachers can gain further information by reading the 2016 Teachers' Certified Agreement Transitional Arrangements Fact Sheet and the 2016 Teachers Certified Agreement Key Changes Fact Sheet. These are both avalable to departmental staff on OnePortal.

Further information

Department of Education and Training Teachers' Certified Agreement 2016 (PDF, 268KB)
2016 Teachers' Certified Agreement Key Dates Fact Sheet (PDF, 66KB)
2016 Teachers' Certified Agreement FAQs (PDF, 226KB)

Please visit this site regularly for updated information.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Last updated
21 June 2019