Skip Navigation Linksour-organisation

Our organisation

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Our structure

​View the organisational structure (PDF, 240KB).

Our divisions

Office of Industrial Relations

The Office of Industrial Relations is responsible for regulatory frameworks, policy advice and compliance activities for workplace safety, electrical safety, industrial relations and workers’ compensation to make Queensland work and workplaces safer, fairer and productive.

Policy, Performance and Planning

​Policy, Performance and Planning drives strategic direction across the department, from early childhood to Indigenous education. The division has oversight of grants, supports statutory bodies, delivers education-related strategic policy and intergovernmental relations functions, coordinates major internal and external research and reviews, and leads the development of the portfolio’s legislative instruments, performance monitoring and reporting functions, and governance, risk and planning.

State Schools

State Schools supports the work of 1,240 Queensland state schools, preparing young Queenslanders with the knowledge, understandings, skills and values to live fulfilling, productive and responsible lives. State Schools supports regional and school planning to ensure that every student belongs to their school community, engages purposefully in their learning and experiences academic success.

Early Childhood and Community Engagement

Early Childhood and Community Engagement (ECCE) is focused on every child making a confident and positive start. ECCE supports the delivery of early childhood education and care services and provides strategic leadership in the development and implementation of policy, funding and regulatory frameworks that shape the early childhood education and care sector in Queensland.

Corporate Services

Our Corporate Services supports the work of schools and business units by delivering high quality services across corporate procurement, finance, human resources, information technologies and infrastructure services functions. 

Our governance

Our Executive Management Board

The Executive Management Board consists of the Director-General and representatives from each directorate. ​

Tony Cook PSM - ​Director-General

Tony began his career in Queensland and is a registered primary school teacher with a focus on early childhood education. Prior to joining the department in April 2018, Tony was the Associate Secretary for Schools and Youth within the Australian Government Department of Education and Training.

In October 2013, Tony was made an Honorary Fellow of the Australian Council for Educational Leaders and in January 2014 he was awarded a Public Service Medal (PSM) for driving school policy and funding reform in Australia.​

Simon Blackwood - Deputy Director-General, Office of Industrial Relations

Simon has extensive industrial relations experience, including as Executive Director for Workplace Health and Safety Queensland and the Queensland Government’s Private Sector Industrial Relations division.

Simon received his PhD in sociology from the University of Queensland.

Annette Whitehead - Deputy Director-General, Policy, Performance and Planning

As Deputy Director-General, Policy, Performance and Planning, Annette is responsible for driving a strategic approach to policy development across early childhood, schooling and Indigenous education at a state and national level. Annette has extensive experience in developing and driving social policy initiatives, planning, program development and legislative reform in the public sector, non-government and private sectors, including in ageing, disability, child care and the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Patrea Walton PSM - Deputy Director-General, State Schools

An experienced educator and former principal, Patrea is committed to every student succeeding and knows that great student outcomes are built on a foundation of empowered principals. Patrea’s achievements have been recognised through numerous honours, including being awarded a Queensland Fellowship by the Australian Council of Educational Leaders, being named national CEO Diversity Champion in 2016 and being awarded the Australian Public Service Medal for services to education in 2017.

Sharon Schimming - Deputy Director-General, Early Childhood and Community Engagement

As a long-serving educator including over 20 years in principal positions and as a Regional Director, Sharon has worked with a range of students across Queensland. Sharon is responsible for providing strategic leadership in the development and implementation of the innovation policy, funding and regulatory frameworks for the early childhood sector.

Jeff Hunt - Deputy Director-General, Corporate Services

Jeff is a former preschool and primary school teacher and principal and has over 30 years’ experience in the department. Prior to his current appointment, Jeff’s roles included Assistant Director-General, Corporate Strategy and Performance; Executive Director, Performance Monitoring and Reporting and Director, Workforce Modelling and Resourcing.

Leanne Wright - Regional Director

Leanne has over 20 years’ experience in public education as a teacher, school leader and policy maker. Skilled in educational leadership, strategic planning and change management, Leanne previously led policy development and implementation for curriculum and pedagogy, early childhood education and vocational education in Australian Capital Territory ​public schools. Leanne is committed to evidence-based practices that support highly effective teaching and improved student outcomes.

Duncan Anson - A/Assistant Director-General, Finance and A/Chief Finance Officer

Duncan served as the C​hief Finance Officer in two other Queensland government departments prior to joining the Department of Education. Duncan is a Fellow of CPA Australia and Chair of the Queensland Public Sector Committee.

A list of our governance committees can be found at Appendix F – Governance committees (PDF, 213KB)​​.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Last updated
02 November 2018