Skip Navigation Linksmaster-planning

Master planning

​A key focus of the Building Future Schools (BFS) Fund is to support Brisbane's growing inner-city communities and plan for the forecast growth and demand for school places.

The BFS Fund has delivered master plans for more than 30 existing state schools across inner-city Brisbane. The master plans were developed in collaboration with school communities as an important first step in understanding the schools visions and long-term requirements to continue to deliver quality state schooling education to their students.

The master planning program is now complete, providing inner-city schools with a blueprint for the future. The plans will assist the department to identify future requirements across the inner-city schooling network and consider how growth demands can be addressed in a holistic approach.

Nine schools that were part of the master planning program have received funding for the delivery of stage 1 of their master plan, including Brisbane Central, Ithaca Creek, Milton, Morningside, New Farm, Newmarket, Petrie Terrace, Toowong and Windsor state schools.

Further planning will now be undertaken with each individual school to progress the delivery of their stage 1 facilities. As part of this process, consultation will be undertaken with the broader community.

BFS master planning schools:

  • Ascot State School
  • Balmoral State High School
  • Brisbane Central State School
  • Buranda State School
  • Coorparoo Secondary College
  • Coorparoo State School
  • Dutton Park State School
  • East Brisbane State School
  • Greenslopes State School
  • Indooroopilly State High School
  • Ironside State School
  • Ithaca Creek State School
  • Junction Park State School
  • Kelvin Grove State College
  • Milton State School
  • Morningside State School
  • Narbethong State Special School
  • New Farm State School
  • Newmarket State School
  • Norman Park State School
  • Petrie Terrace State School
  • Queensland Academy for Creative Industries
  • Queensland Academy for Science, Mathematics and Technology
  • Rainworth State School
  • Red Hill Special School
  • Seven Hills State School
  • Toowong State School
  • West End State School
  • Wilston State School
  • Windsor State School
  • Wooloowin State School
  • Yeronga State High School
  • Yeronga State School.

For more information on any of these projects, email

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Last updated
18 September 2019