Skip Navigation Linkswide-bay-students-balance-the-books

Wide Bay students balance the books

Keri Jensen and Year 12 students Billie Morgan, Jackson Paul and Isabella Murdoch celebrating their win

​Wide Bay's savviest business students are set to pin their entrepreneurial skills against like-minded teenagers at the national final of CQUniversity's Schools Business Challenge.

Students from Bundaberg North State High School won the first round of the prestigious challenge thanks to hard work and the support of their Head of Department – Technologies, Keri Jensen.

"Year 12 students Jackson Paul, Billie Morgan and Isabella Murdoch were a great team, they all worked hard to secure their place in the final," Ms Jensen said.

"The competition gives students an opportunity to test their skill and knowledge levels against their peers.

"The students will now study for the finals which will be held in July."

Gin Gin State High School students Abbey Davis, Moselle Findlay and Bethanie Barns also impressed the judges and were named runners up in the Wide Bay region round.

Gin Gin State High School teacher librarian Glenda George managed the team to success.

"We are very happy for the team, they put in a great effort," Ms George said. "Gin Gin also took out the runners up award in 2017."

This year savvy students from Rockhampton, Emerald, Gladstone, Bundaberg, Mackay, Townsville, Cairns, Brisbane and Melbourne competed in the challenge.

Participating teams must correctly answer 10 multiple choice questions on 4 topic areas: accounting, management and business, economics and law, and current affairs/general Knowledge.

As a result of their round one success, the Bundaberg North State High School students will each receive a $1,500 CQUniversity scholarship on their enrolment in the School of Business and Law, and the school has received a cash prize of $500.

If they are successful at the national level, they will each receive an additional $2,500 CQUniversity scholarship, and there's a $3,000 cash prize for the school.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Last updated
28 October 2019