Skip Navigation Linksdalby-students-kickstart-career-aspirations

Dalby students kickstart career aspirations

​Dalby State School students are kicking new goals.

​Dalby State School students are kicking new goals with their success being shaped by their teacher who has been nominated for the 2018 NRL teacher of the year awards.

Tamara Kavney, HPE teacher and lifelong football aficionado, heads the Rugby league School of Excellence program at the school.

“The Rugby league excellence program offers one day a week of training to inspire and train students who hope to follow in the footsteps of Dalby footballers Andrew McCullough, Ashley Taylor, Steve Price, Carl Webb and Beau Fermor,” Ms Kavney said.

“Boys and girls in the program develop their skills in catching, passing, playing the ball and tackling while learning about many other aspects of the game.

“But it’s not only about being a gifted and talented Rugby league player, more importantly we are looking for a range of qualities including self-discipline, self-motivation, willingness to be part of a team and passion about Rugby league.

“The Dalby Diehards, Dalby Devils, Brisbane Broncos and the NRL endorse the program and their support includes coaching clinics with senior club players, development officers and club coaches.

“The program is helping students stay engaged with schooling and has improved engagement of participants in all areas of their schooling by developing socially responsible students who value and strive to achieve in education and sport.

“Two teams of 12 students will also compete in the South West All Schools Touch Football and Queensland All Schools Touch Football in Redlands in November this year.

“All the students are extremely excited about this opportunity and I’m proud to be able to share my passion for the sport with the potential next generation of Dalby footballers,” Ms Kavney said.

For more information on the Rugby league School of Excellence visit the Dalby State School website.

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0) ( )
Last updated
02 October 2018